Bezzecchi Takes Commanding Win at First Ever Indian Motogp

In a historic race that marked the inaugural Indian MotoGP, Marco Bezzecchi delivered a stellar performance, securing an emphatic victory that left fans and enthusiasts spellbound. The Mooney VR46 rider showcased exceptional skills, crossing the finish line nearly 9 seconds ahead of his closest rival, Jorge Martin of Prima Pramac Racing. Fabio Quartararo, representing Monster Energy Yamaha, completed the podium with a standout performance.

The race began with a surprising twist as Bezzecchi, who had secured pole position for the first-ever Indian GP, briefly lost his lead at the start. Ducati riders Francesco Bagnaia and Jorge Martin managed to overtake him early in the race. However, Bezzecchi’s remarkable pace soon became evident as he swiftly maneuvered past his fellow Ducati competitors, reclaiming the lead within just two laps. From that point onward, Bezzecchi asserted his dominance on the track, leaving his competitors struggling to keep up.

For Bezzecchi, this victory served as sweet redemption following the disappointment of the previous day’s sprint race. In that event, Bezzecchi was involved in a turn one incident on lap one, colliding with his teammate Luca Marini, who unfortunately suffered a broken collarbone in the crash.

While Bezzecchi soared to victory, Jorge Martin of Prima Pramac Racing displayed his prowess by securing second place with an aggressive pass on Bagnaia during the third lap. Bagnaia, the reigning world champion, encountered further misfortune as he eventually crashed out of the race, unable to rejoin. This unexpected turn of events had a significant impact on the championship standings, with Bagnaia’s lead shrinking to a mere 13 points.

However, Martin’s journey to second place was not without its challenges. He grappled with grip issues in the later stages of the race and faced an unexpected hurdle when the zipper on his racing suit came undone mid-race. These setbacks allowed Quartararo to close the gap in the closing laps and momentarily overtake Martin. Nevertheless, Martin displayed resilience and managed to regain his position, ultimately securing a well-deserved second-place finish.

The Repsol Honda team exhibited strong performance throughout the weekend, with Joan Mir and Marc Marquez starting the race in 5th and 6th positions, respectively. Both riders demonstrated their speed and comfort in the early stages of the race. However, Marquez’s challenge ended abruptly when he overcooked his entry into turn one on the fifth lap and crashed out. Joan Mir found himself engaged in a fierce battle for fourth place with Red Bull KTM rider Brad Binder, ultimately settling for 5th. The top Aprilia finisher was Maverick Vinales, who secured 8th place.

Indian MotoGP Results

1. Marco Bezzecchi (Mooney VR46)
2. Jorge Martin (Prima Pramac)
3. Fabio Quartararo (Yamaha)
4. Brad Binder (Red Bull KTM)
5. Joan Mir (Repsol Honda)
6. Johann Zarco (Prima Pramac)
7. Franco Morbidelli (Yamaha)
8. Maverick Vinales (Aprilia)
9. Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda)
10. Raul Fernandez (RNF MotoGP)
11. Takaaki Nakagami (LCR Honda)
12. Miguel Oliveira (RNF MotoGP)
13. Pol Espargaro (GasGas)
14. Jack Miller (Red Bull KTM)
15. Stefan Bradl (LCR Honda)
16. Michele Pirro (Ducati)
– Fabio Di Giannantonio (Gresini)
– Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati)
– Aleix Espargaro (Aprilia)
– Augusto Fernandez (GasGas)

The first-ever Indian MotoGP will undoubtedly be etched in the annals of motorcycle racing history as Marco Bezzecchi’s dominant victory sets a high bar for future editions of this thrilling event. Don’t miss the action as the MotoGP season unfolds, with riders vying for championship glory in this exciting and competitive series.

Read More:

Scroll to Top