Hyundai Now Offers 6 Airbags As Standard Across The Lineup

In a significant move toward enhancing car safety standards in India, Hyundai has emerged as the trailblazer among mass-market car brands by making six airbags a standard feature across its entire lineup. This proactive initiative has been prompted by the growing awareness of car safety in India and impending safety regulations.

Hyundai Leads the Way

Hyundai’s commitment to safety is evident in its recent launches. Models such as the Hyundai Exter, Hyundai i20 facelift, and Hyundai Verna already come equipped with six airbags as standard fitment. However, some popular models like the Hyundai Grand i10 Nios, Hyundai Aura, and Hyundai Venue were previously lacking this standard feature. Let’s take a closer look at the airbag configurations in Hyundai’s lineup before and after this announcement:

  • Grand i10 Nios: 4 airbags
  • Aura: 4 airbags
  • i20 and i20 N Line: 6 airbags
  • Exter: 6 airbags
  • Venue: 2 airbags
  • Venue N Line: 4 airbags
  • Verna: 6 airbags
  • Creta: 6 airbags
  • Alcazar: 6 airbags
  • Tucson: 6 airbags
  • Ioniq 5: 6 airbags
  • Kona Electric: 6 airbags

After the Announcement

Now, all Hyundai models, including the Grand i10 Nios, Aura, Venue, and Venue N Line, will come equipped with the enhanced safety of six airbags as standard.

Comprehensive Safety Features

Beyond airbags, Hyundai models offer a comprehensive array of safety features. These include:

  • ABS with EBD
  • Hill assist
  • Electronic stability control (ESC)
  • Tyre pressure monitoring system (TPMS)
  • ISOFIX child seat mounts
  • Rear parking or a 360-degree camera
  • Advanced driver assistance systems (ADAS) in select models
  • Dual camera dashcam in the Exter, Venue N Line, and special Adventure editions of the Creta and Alcazar

Advanced Driver Assistance Systems

Hyundai has also made strides in ADAS technology. The updated Venue boasts advanced driver assistance systems, while models like the Hyundai Verna, Hyundai Tucson, and Hyundai Ioniq 5 offer additional ADAS features such as forward-collision warning, blind-spot alert, lane keep assist, lane departure warning, and adaptive cruise control.

A Pioneering Achievement

Hyundai has achieved a milestone in car safety by earning a full 5-star rating in safety tests for its new Verna model, marking it as the first made-in-India Hyundai to receive this prestigious rating from the Global NCAP.

A Safer Future for Indian Roads

Hyundai’s proactive move to make six airbags standard across its lineup sets a commendable precedent for car safety in India. As safety awareness continues to grow, it prompts the question: Should every car brand in India follow suit and offer six airbags as standard fitment across all models? Share your thoughts in the comments below.

By prioritizing safety, Hyundai is paving the way for a safer and more secure driving experience for Indian consumers. As other car manufacturers evaluate their safety standards, the industry as a whole may see an improvement in vehicle safety across the board.

Read More:

Scroll to Top